My Morning Routine

img_7524-1

Hello lovelies,

I hope you’re all having a happy and blessed Monday. Even though today is Monday, I noticed that yesterday was already looking at what I have to do to be ready for today, like what clothes I wanted to wear, what had to be ready for work, this week and so on… And the more I thought about it, the more I realized how excited I was to get up today and start with my routine. 

I’m definitely a morning person. I just love waking up at 5:30 or 6 and getting on, with plenty of time, about my day while being able to get everything done that I need to. And the more I’ve gotten used to starting my day a little bit earlier, the more I’ve learned to enjoy the small things that I love doing. 

So with no further do, here is how I get ready on a work day. 

Like I mentioned, I’ve always been a morning person. Ever since I was young, I always loved waking up early with my dad and getting ready with enough time to have a good breakfast. And not much has changed.

img_7517-1

I usually wake up at around 5:45 am during the week and head over to the bathroom to brush my teeth and freshen up. I’ll put on my work out clothes and head to the living room area. Our puppy Shelby sleeps in a little play-pen, so I go over there to see her brightly-awake little face and let her out for a quick wee.

Luckily, there is a little grass patch right in front of the place where we live. So I can take her on a quick stroll around the block so she can go to the bathroom and let some energy out.


Then it’s time for my work out. I try to be at the gym by 6:10 at the latest, so I have time to shower and get ready later. Thankfully, it’s only 5 minutes from our place. 

I usually try to combine some type of cardio, whether it is running or doing the elliptical, and some strength workout too. I’m lucky that my boyfriend has been working out much longer than me, so after a 30 minute elliptical session I join him and work on whatever muscle group he is working on. 

Once we’re done at around 7 o’clock, we’ll head back home to get ready for work. I’ll usually shower first because it does take me slightly longer than him to get ready. I change up my shampoo every time I run out of one, but currently I am loving the TRESemmΓ©’s Healthy Volume that gives you lots of volume and body. I have a lot but very fine hair that will just stick to my face, so I appreciate any product that helps me get that beautiful and natural volume. The best thing is that it also lasts forever, so you don’t have to worry about washing your hair every day. 


On days when I don’t wash my hair, I will use these next items and them only. The Batiste Dry Shampoo in blush of tropical and the Leyla Milani Big Hair Don’t Care volumizinng powder. These products are a serious life saver considering that I have very oily hair with no volume. And these are the perfect fix!! First I use the Batiste dry shampoo to remove all the oil from my scalp and then I use the volumizing powder to give my hair volume and texture. I’m serisouly obsessed with these two and can honestly say that I couldn’t live without them. 


Once the shower is done, I quickly do my make up [you can see my detailed make up routine here] it’s time for clothes. I do set out my clothes the night before because I can really not be bothered to worry about that the day of. It is so much easier and less time consuming, that no matter what time it is the night before, I will still make it a point to choose my outfit. 

Then comes my FAVOURITE time of the day: breakfast. I love breakfast and I love making sure that neither my boyfriend or I leave the house hungry. 

Since we did go to the gym, we both normally take our protein shakes first. Mine is by Pure Protein, which I get at Target, and I never thought I’d enjoy taking a protein shake as much as I do thanks to Pure Protein’s Natural Whey Vanilla Powder. I picked the flavour vanilla and just add a banana or two (depending on how small they are), sometimes a big table spoon of honey, some almond or regular milk, two or three ice cubes and finally a scoop of the powder. 


This tastes so good and it only has 130 total calories with 29g of protein. It is the morning, so taking in good calories and plenty proteins is very important to be able to get on with your day and keep your energy levels up. 

For breakfast that day I made some toast with butter and a bowl of granola with yogurt for myself. This obviously changes daily depending on what we’re in the mood for. 

I thought I might also add that I did drink a cup of water before the gym, but I do like my morning coffee – 

My boyfriend and I are tea lovers, but I do need my morning caffeine to get on with the day, so I’ll make myself a coffee. 

By now it will be around 8:20 o’clock in the morning, and time for me to start putting on my shoes to head out the door and go to work. 

img_7705
– My trousers & vest are very old but from Zara and are the comfiest high-waisted pants ever, the shirt is from American Eagle and these shoes are Ann Taylor (they are pretty old, so here are similar ones), purse is Michael Kors and my card holder (my wallet) is very old from Burberry – 

Thank you so much for stopping by and reading my blogs, you guys have no idea how excited it gets me and how blessed and thankful I feel that you take the time to come and read my little stories. 

Please let me know if you guys like these kinds of posts, and I’ll make sure to write them more often. 

Lots of love, Yara

One thought on “My Morning Routine

Leave a Reply

