How I Get Ready For The Summer





Happy Wednesday loves! 

Spring is here and that means that summer is right around the corner. If you’re anything like me, then the New Years resolutions have lasted about a month after setting them and now you’re worried to catch up with the gym and a healthier diet so that you can look your best for the summer months. 

And believe me, I have honestly stopped worrying about New Years resolutions and focused more on keeping my lifestyle healthy throughout the year. 

So today I thought I would share my little tips and tricks on how to get ready and stay ready for the summer. Plus, hopefully these are easy enough that you can keep doing them even after the summer and through autumn and winter. 

5 Easy Things I Do to Get Ready for the Summer: 

1. Feeling good is looking good 

To me, looking good doesn’t just happen on the outside with make up or a cute outfit, but also from the inside. What I love the most about summer are the long days and warm nights where you get to enjoy every little piece of your day. With the hot days, comes the thirst, and if you live in a dry-aired place like me then water should be the number one item in your purse, car, office and home. I cannot leave the house without my water bottle anymore. I freaking love it. I have the S’well Bottle in silver (ummm… used to be my boyfriends but he doesn’t use it so…) and it is the best bottle I have ever owned. When the day starts, I’ll pour my tea in there (currently loving the Twining’s Lady Grey tea) and it will keep it hot ALL DAY LONG. Yes, that’s right. All day. I obviously finish it in the first couple hours at the office, but I do love the fact that you don’t have to rush drinking the tea just because of the fear of it getting cold. And after that, I will refill the bottle with water and constantly drink throughout the day. Water is so important for our bodies and we really don’t give it enough credit. 

2. Exercising tailored to you! 

Nowadays, there are a lot of health channels and blogs and trainers who offer great ideas and routines on how to stay in shape. I’m definitely one that loved going on Instagram or Pinterest and look at all the exercise routines people did to get into shape. But now, as much as I continue looking for ideas, I have found that keeping my routine simple and old school is what works best for me. I have to admit that having a Marine boyfriend is probably what helps me stay consistent the most, but we usually just go to the gym, I’ll do cardio two to three times a week and after that I will join him and just work on one muscle (sometimes muscle group like shoulders and back or gluteus and legs) a day. Of course I miss the gym sometimes but on those days I just try to go outside and walk our puppy an extra half hour at a higher pace. Exercising doesn’t have to happen at a gym, you can also customize and do it all at home or outside if the weather allows you to. My biggest advice is that no matter what you do, you enjoy it. Because then, you’ll be excited to get to do it every day. 

3. Summer food ❤️ 

Summer meals are hands down (after Nutella and other sweets of course) my absolute favourite. All the fruits that are in season during summer make me want to move to a tropical place because I could eat those ALL DAY LONG! I love making huge salad bowls to snack on all day, eating tons and tons of fruit, making juices and enjoying some fruity ice cream. I don’t know about you, but my appetite definitely changes in the summer. I crave cooler, lighter meals like salads with chicken breast or tacos or even yogurt bowls with lots of granola and fruit. On Sunday’s my boyfriend and I will usually go to the store and get food for the week. And if they’re ready, I’ll buy a pineapple and a watermelon and will cut them up so that we can snack on them whenever we want and they’ll be ready. 

4. Looking tan without damaging your skin 

I’m from a coastal city, so tanning and sunbathing is definitely something I have done for a very long time. The more time passes, however, one realizes that hurting your skin and risk having things like skin cancer are not something worth looking tan for. Now, we all know that there is a solution for this all: Self Tanners !!

And thank the Lord for fake tanners! I love being tanned all year around but that’s hard to do when you live in a state like Colorado where 4 months out of the year it’s cold enough outside where you could turn yourself into an icicle. Plus, there are so may self-tanning products out there that are super affordable, so I have no excuse. My favorite is This One from Jergens. I get it at Target for about $10 and it’s so good! It goes on just like a lotion and I like to do it at night so it can really develop and be dark in the morning. Then you take a quick shower to wash off the excess and Voila! I want to upgrade to the Loving Tan tanners, but they’re a bit too pricey for me to keep buying them right now. 

5. Summer outfits 

Who doesn’t love all the summer outfits? Cute shorts and skirts and dresses, not having to wear 100 layers of jackets, scarves, sweaters, gloves and socks… I definitely do! But if we try to keep up with fashion trends, we might end up broke (at least me, cause I’m not rich by any means). So I always love having 3-4 staples in my wardrobe that I can mix and match with items I already own or that are affordable, and this way you can always look cute and not break the bank. 

One item that will never be missing in my closet is skirts. Long ones and shorter ones, I love skirts! I think they just look good on everyone and with almost everything. You can dress them up with some heels and silkier shirts or dress them down with flats. 

There are also so many affordable stores that have a huge variety of cute tops and shirts, so I love to just wear simple white or denim jeans and pair them with a nice shirt. ShowPo, H&M, J Crew Factory and many other stores have super affordable options for everyone. 

So there are my five little suggestions on how to get summer ready. I hope these are helpful, but if you guys have questions or more suggestions, write them in the comments below. I’d love to know how you guys get ready. 

Lots of love, Yara

Leave a Reply

